There is a phisher or viral attack which is masquerading as MacDesktops. There is no “Support Team” at MacDesktops; there’s just me. The attachment probably contains a virus or spyware or something nasty. Don’t open it. Email addresses used for announcements are secure and have not been compromised. In fact, the address I received this at isn’t even on the announcement list. I suspect messages similar to this are being sent using other domains as well.

I just want to assure you that the message was NOT sent by MacDesktops. Do NOT open the attachment.

From: service@macdesktops.com
Subject: MEMBERS SUPPORT
Date: November 2, 2005 9:22:51 AM PST
To:

Dear Macdesktops Member,

Your e-mail account was used to send a huge amount of unsolicited spam messages during the recent week. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and confirm the attached document so you will not run into any future problems with the online service.

If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to cancel your membership.

Virtually yours,
The Macdesktops Support Team

+++ Attachment: No Virus found
+++ Macdesktops Antivirus – www.macdesktops.com

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)